Bulacan tightens borders under Alert Level 3

The Bulacan police has started to enforce stricter border control points as the province was upgraded to Alert Level 3 status Thursday night.

Col. Manuel M. Lukban, Jr. acting provincial director of the Bulacan Police Provincial Office, told the Philippine News Agency (PNA) on Friday that a total of 112 police officers and force multipliers were deployed to man the 24-hour quarantine control points, 17 for provincial boundaries (Bulacan-Manila, Bulacan-Pampanga, and Bulacan-Nueva Ecija), and seven for North Luzon Expressway (NLEX) exit in a bid to prevent the spread of the highly transmissible Omicron variant of the coronavirus disease 2019 (Covid-19).

“All control points and police visibility have been heightened province-wide in response to the government-imposed stringent enforcement of Alert Level 3 in the province to curb the surge in the number of coronavirus disease cases,” Lukban said.

He also detailed the locations of the border Quarantine Control Points (QCP) which included those in Barangay San Roque Road, Baliuag, (Candaba, Pampanga boundary); Barangay Tilapayong, Baliwag, (Apalit, Pampanga boundary); Barangay Gatbuca, Calumpit, (Calumpit-Apalit, Pampanga boundary); Shelterville, Barangay Loma De Gato, Marilao, (Phase 10, Barangay Bagong Silang, Caloocan City); Barangay Bagbaguin, Meycauayan, (Road Closed-Valezuela boundary); Barangay Bahay Pare, Meycauayan (Caloocan boundary); along McArthur Highway, Barangay Bancal, Meycauayan, Barangay Lawa, Meycauayan, Bulacan (Valenzuela boundary), and Barangay Catanghalan, Obando, Barangay Panghulo, Obando, Barangay Bulualto, San Miguel (provincial boundary of San Miguel and Gapan, Nueva Ecija).

Lukban said the control points along NLEX are the NLEX northbound exit in Barangay Turo, Bocaue; NLEX Philippine Arena Barangay Igulot, Bocaue; NLEX northbound exit in Barangay Tambubong, San Rafael; NLEX exit bound in Barangay Sta Rita Guiguinto; NLEX southbound in Barangay Patubig, Marilao; NLEX toll exit southbound in Barangay Malhacan, Meycauayan City; and Pulilan Exit, South Bound, Barangay Tibag, Pulilan.

He said only those providing basic services, essential needs, necessary items, utilities, and other authorized personnel are permitted to enter and exit the province’s borders.

“Travelers entering Metro Manila are being checked regarding their proof of vaccination,” Lukban added.

He reminded the public that strict adherence to all protocols and minimum public health standards are essential to safeguard public health and safety and to prevent the Omicron from spreading in the province and country.

Source: Philippines News Agency

Leave a Reply