Disaster-resilient evacuation center in Aurora completed

The Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) Aurora District Engineering Office has completed the construction of a disaster-resilient evacuation center in Dipaculao, Aurora.

Located in Barangay Gupa, the PHP7.7-million evacuation center will serve as a temporary shelter for residents who will be displaced in times of calamities.

District Engineer Roderick Andal said the construction of an evacuation center in the area was prioritized to strengthen emergency response and recovery efforts of the local government during calamities.

“The disaster-resilient evacuation center has an evacuation space that can accommodate residents in case they will be needing a safer place during the occurrence of strong typhoons, severe flooding, and other calamitous events that could threaten their lives,” Andal said in a social media post on Wednesday.

He said the newly completed evacuation center is designed specifically to be disaster-resilient to ensure that everyone in the area is protected.

It has a decent bathroom for both men and women, as well as a laundry area, water tank, and pump generator room to ensure 24-hour water supply. It also has a comfortable sleeping area for evacuees.

The DPWH Aurora District Engineering Office also completed two multipurpose facilities in Dipaculao that could serve as evacuation centers during calamities.

DPWH 3 (Central Luzon) Director Roseller Tolentino earlier said the evacuation center was constructed in a low-risk area identified in the hazard map and was designed to be resilient from any disaster, such as floods, earthquakes, and other extreme weather events.

Among the evacuation centers built by the DPWH in Central Luzon are those located in Barangay San Nicolas, Castillejos and Barangay Mambog, Botolan, both in Zambales; Barangay Sampaloc, Talavera, Nueva Ecija; and Barangay Tanawan, Dingalan, Aurora.

The DPWH has also completed two regional emergency evacuation facilities in Barangay San Roque, Mexico and Barangay Sta. Catalina, Lubao, both in Pampanga province.

Source: Philippines News Agency

Leave a Reply