2016 Outstanding volunteers cited

MANILA, -- The Philippine National Volunteer Service Coordinating Agency (PNVSCA) on Tuesday recognized this year's outstanding volunteers.

The agency held the awarding ceremony at the Crown Plaza Galleria in Ortigas, Quezon City in celebration of National Volunteer Month (NVM).

The ceremony was led by Socioeconomic Planning Secretary Ernesto Pernia, who chaired the National Volunteer Month (NVM) Steering Committee this year.

Pernia and Joselito de Vera, executive director of PNVSCA and vice chair of NVM Steering Committee, presented the trophies to the winners in recognition of their selfless acts for the betterment of their fellowmen in their respective communities.

Pernia said that the dedication and commitment of volunteers have valuable contributions to the improvement of the quality of life of individuals and families.

He added that the acts of volunteerism and inclusive participation are also vital to achieving the targets set in the "Ambition 2040".

Corazon Alma de Leon former official of the Department of Social Welfare and Development and Civil Service Commission (CSC) was bestowed the Volunteer Lifetime Achievement Award. In her speech, she said volunteerism is the highest form of public service.

Susumo Ito, chief representative of the Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA), was given a special citation in volunteerism for his involvement in the Japan Overseas Cooperation Volunteers-Philippines.

The young volunteers of Japan were recognized as they worked hand in hand with their Filipino counterparts in different fields in improving the welfare and capabilities of Filipinos towards a strong bilateral relations between Japan and Philippines.

Other winners were former volunteers of DSWD's Kalahi-CIDSS (Kapitbisig Laban sa Kahirapan-Comprehensive and Integrated Delivery of Social Services), Ryan Homan and Marcelo Gusanan.

Homan was recognized for his commitment in doing volunteer service in the field of education while Gusanan was recognized for his involvement in the empowerment process and in peace building in conflict-affected communities.

A doctor in the medical profession, Dr. Robert Tolentino, was also honored for his contribution in bridging the gap in health care and reaching out to the marginalized through medical missions in remote areas.

Other winners were Engr. Andres Ngao-i for his advocacy on the Indigenous Peoples' education, and preservation of indigenous practices; and Yolanda Canseco-Hernandez for preserving Filipino history and cultural heritage notably, the Girl Scout of the Philippines National Heritage Center.

Two organizations, the Davao Oriental Rescuers and Monitoring Stations Inc. and the UP Lakan, were also given awards for their inspiring role in community service and development.

The awarding ceremony is done yearly as a platform for promoting and nurturing volunteerism as a time-enduring tradition.

Source: Philippines News Agency