Lawmakers cast vote in 2022 elections


Lawmakers cast their votes at different polling precincts during the 2022 national and local elections on Monday.

House of Representatives Speaker Lord Allan Velasco cast his ballot at the Poctoy Elementary School in his hometown of Torrijos in Marinduque province.

Velasco, who is running unopposed as representative of Marinduque’s lone district, is looking forward to his third consecutive term.

He will proceed to the Batasang Pambansa Complex in Quezon City in the afternoon to lead the initialization of the Consolidation and Canvassing System to be used by Congress, which would be sitting as the National Board of Canvassers tasked by the Constitution to count the votes and proclaim the winners in the 2022 presidential and vice presidential elections.

House Majority Leader Martin Romualdez of the 1st District of Leyte cast his vote at the V&G Memorial Elementary School in Tacloban City.

Romualdez, who is vying for his second term, is also running unopposed.

He called for the protection of votes in the May 9 polls.

“Going out to cast votes is just one part of our sacred duty. Now, we must remain vigilant and ensure that all of the votes get counted, up to the very last one. This is the only way to protect the integrity of the electoral process,” Romualdez said.

“Ang botohang ito ay para sa magandang kinabukasan ng mga Pilipino, isang kinabukasan na puno ng pagmamahal sa bayan at pagkakaisa (This election is for a better future for Filipinos, a future full of love for the country and unity).”

His wife, Tingog Party-list Rep. Yedda Romualdez, cast her vote at the same school.

Taguig-Pateros Rep. Alan Peter Cayetano cast his vote in Bagumbayan, Taguig.

Cayetano emerged as a survey-leading candidate in the senatorial race.

Source: Philippines News Agency

Leave a Reply