Dumaguete mayor reelected


Dumaguete Mayor Felipe Antonio Remollo got reelected in Monday’s polls, with a margin of more than 3,000 votes over his closest rival.

Remollo, who heads Team Lupad Dumaguete, garnered 35,744 votes against Estanislao Alviola of Team Kasaligan, who earned 32,382 votes.

He was proclaimed around 4 a.m. Tuesday at the city session hall by the board of canvassers, led by lawyer Ian Macaraya, the Commission on Elections (Comelec) local election officer.

Two other mayoral candidates, both independents, trailed behind –Rene Ledesma with 2,304 votes and Kinix Ramirez with 319.

For vice mayor, Calindagan barangay chair Maisa Sagarbarria of Team Lupad Dumaguete won with 43,049 votes against William Ablong of Team Kasaligan with 23,981.

Meanwhile, opposition candidates from Team Kasaligan dominated the city council seats with seven winners while the administration’s Team Lupad Dumaguete only had three.

The new city council members are Team Kasaligan’s Joe Kenneth Arbas, Petit Baldado, Maria Marife Cordova, Bernice Elmaco, JV Imbo, Agustin Perdices, Antonio Remollo, and Team Lupad Dumaguete’s Rey Lyndon Lawas, GG Esmeña, and Karissa Tolentino Maxino.

The newcomers are Baldado, Cordova, and Lawas, while the others are either incumbents or returning councilors.

During the proclamation of the winning candidates, only Lawas and Maxino were present.

Macaraya said in a media interview the election in the capital was peaceful and orderly, except for the usual minor glitches such as paper jams and malfunctioning vote counting machines but these were addressed immediately.

Source: Philippines News Agency

Leave a Reply