Incumbents win in Digos City


DIGOS CITY – The entire slate of Hugpong Digoseños led by incumbent Mayor Josef Fortich Cagas are set to sweep all local positions here based on partial, unofficial results aggregated from the Commission on Elections ( Comelec) data of 98.18 percent of election returns.

According to the Comelec data obtained Tuesday, the reelectionist Cagas garnered 66,169 votes against his rival former Digos City Mayor Joseph Peñas, who got 23,306 votes in 162 of the 165 clustered precincts.

Vice Mayor Johari Baña, who is seeking reelection for a second term, also led the canvassing with 61,646 votes against provincial board member Lani Gabutero who recorded 23,003 votes.

The Hugpong Digoseños grabbed all 10 available slots at the City Council for the 2022-2025 term.

The City Council’s leading candidates include Liza Cagas with 53,423 votes; Rey Aballe (50,806); King Latasa (49,586); Michael Latasa (46,025); Danny Canastra (44,837); Marc Dominic Fernandez (44,820); Badong Dumogho (42,480); Ching Cadungog (39,266); Jay Aldeguer (37,915); and Reynaldo Hermosisima (35,761). (PNA)

Source: Philippines News Agency

Leave a Reply