Reelected mayor lines up more programs, projects for Iloilo City

Business & Finance

Iloilo City Mayor Jerry P. Treñas assured his constituents of more programs and projects for this highly urbanized city as he received a fresh mandate over two other challengers during the May 9 polls.

Treñas was proclaimed winner by the Iloilo City board of canvassers Wednesday morning together with his allies — incumbent Vice Mayor Jeffrey Ganzon and lone district Representative Julienne Baronda.

Also proclaimed were 12 other winners who will compose the next set of the Sangguniang Panlungsod; 10 belonging to the group of Treñas.

The mayor, in a media interview after the proclamation, said another achievement is in store for Iloilo with the proposed setting up of an office by the European Chamber of Commerce of the Philippines (ECCP) in the city.

“This is really a milestone for Iloilo City because this is the first foreign chamber of commerce that will set up its office here. This goes to show that we are now on the radar of big businesses and if we are effective in running the city and the environment is good for investments, then more will come in that will provide jobs for our people,” Treñas said.

He added that effective Wednesday, the rehabilitation of the La Paz market has started to be followed by the rehabilitation of the market in Jaro and Arevalo districts.

The rehabilitation of district plazas and the construction of the low-rise building that will be used for relocation are also ongoing.

“I think the Ilonggos have something to be proud of in the coming years,” he added.

Meantime, the provincial board of canvassers also proclaimed winners incumbent Iloilo Governor Arthur Defensor Jr. and unopposed Vice Governor Christine Garin on Wednesday.

First District Representative Janette Garin, Second District Representative Mike Gorriceta, Third District Representative Lorenz Defensor, Fourth District Representative Ferjenil Biron, and Fifth District Representative Raul Tupas were also proclaimed winners.

Except for Biron who is a comebacking congressman, all four others are incumbent members of the House of Representatives.

Source: Philippines News Agency

Leave a Reply