China hosts media exchange program for 44 Asian, African journalists

BEIJING-- China Public Diplomacy Association (CPDA) formally opened on Wednesday its 2017 Session of the China South Asia and Southeast Asia Press Center (CSASEAPC) and China African Press Center (CAPC) here.

The 10-month long media exchange program will be attended by 15 journalists from South Asian and Southeast Asian countries and 29 journalists from African nations.

Former Chinese foreign minister and CPDA president Li Zhaoxing urged journalists to take advantage of the opportunity to learn more about China and to promote friendship and cooperation with its Asian neighbors and African countries.

"I hope you can make contribution to our friendship and cooperation and to promote peace among Asian countries and to achieve universal and harmonious relations among nations," Li said in his speech during the joint opening ceremony of CSASEAPC and CAPC programs at the Jianguomenwai Diplomatic Residence Compound event center.

Li was joined by CPDA vice president Zhao Xiyuan who welcomed participants of the CSASEAFC and CAPC programs organized by the CPDA, a nationwide non-profit non-government organization (NGO).

The opening rite was witnessed by CPDA sponsors and officials, government officials and members of diplomatic corps including Ivan Frank M. Olea, Minister of the Embassy of the Philippines to China.

The CPDA was established in December 2012 by experts, scholars, celebrities, institutions, and enterprises with shared common interest to advance development of China's public diplomacy, enhance understanding and friendship between China and the world.

The Asian press center started in 2016 but only this year that Southeast Asian countries have been included in the program.

The program will help 44 journalists to understand China better and its culture, people and economy which is the world's second next to the United States.

The journalists will also be able to cover major domestic and international events such as upcoming two 5th session of the 12th National People's Congress (NPC) and 12th National Committee of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference (CPPCC) in March, the Belt and Road Forum for International Cooperation in May and the 9th BRICS Summit in September.

The 15 Asian journalists include: Karokhail Parwaiz from Afghanistan, Hasan Mohammad Jubair (Bangladesh), U Zaw Ye (Myanmar), Ung Kaneka (Cambodia), Vaidyanathapura Narendra Apurva (India), Pandey Jay Prakash (India), Latsaphao Khonesavanh (Laos), Ibrahim Aminath (Maldives), Tiwari Nanda Lal and Sangroula Sangeet (Nepal), Asadi Muhammar Zamir and Khan Raza Muhammad (Pakistan), Jelly Musico (Philippines), Gadhenage Nilupul Priyankara Perera (Sri. Lanka) and Preechatham Suratt (Thailand).

On the other hand, the CAPC started in 2015 and this time will be participated by 29 journalists from Angola, Bostwana, Burundi, Cameroon, Congo, Cote d'Ivoire, D.R. Congo, Egypt, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Liberia, Malawi, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe. (PNA)

Source: Philippines News Agency