Comelec suspends voters deactivation in S. Leyte, SoCot

MANILA The Commission on Elections (Comelec) on Tuesday suspended the deactivation of names on the list of voters in the first and second legislative districts of Southern Leyte, and in the first and third legislative districts of South Cotabato, in line with the special polls on October 26.

"In order to avoid any legal issues as an aftereffect of the deactivation process to be conducted by the ERB (Election Registration Board) vis-a-vis the list of voters to be utilized in the October 26 elections, there is a need to suspend the conduct of deactivation process in areas covered by the October 26 elections," the Comelec said in Resolution No. 10599.

The poll body noted that the suspension is needed since the voters list that will be used on October 26 will be similar to the one used in the May 2019 national and local elections.

Among those who will be deactivated are voters who failed to participate in the past two elections.

Section 27 of the RA 8189 or the Voter's Registration Act of 1996, states that the ERB shall deactivate the registration and remove the registration records of any person "who did not vote in the two successive preceding regular elections as shown by their voting records."

Meanwhile, the Comelec en banc has directed the ERBs in the said areas to finalize the list of voters to be used in the election in the four legislative districts.

According to Comelec Resolution No. 10598, the Election Day Computerized Voters List (EDCVL) and Posted Computerized Voters List (PCVL) must already be verified, certified, and sealed.

"The Commission hereby resolves to... direct members of the ERBs in cities and municipalities to conduct, upon receipt of the printed EDCVL and PCVL, the procedures of verification and certification of the names of voters," it said.

The passage of Republic Act No. 11198, which reapportioned Southern Leyte from one to two legislative districts while Republic Act No. 11243 reapportioned the first legislative district of South Cotabato, which led to the creation of the third legislative district of South Cotabato. (PNA)

Source: Philippines News Agency