DepEd celebrates teachers’ efforts in shaping global-minded learners

Recognizing that Filipino teachers play a crucial role in delivering quality education to learners, who would soon be the great leaders and valuable citizens of our country, the Department of Education (DepEd) enjoins students, stakeholders, and the whole nation to partake in the celebration of the National Teachers' Month (NTM) beginning September 5, 2016.

The celebration culminates in a grand celebration of the National Teachers' Day (NTD) and World Teachers' Day (WTD) in Davao City on October 5.

Education Secretary Leonor Magtolis Briones expressed her gratitude to those in the teaching profession, "I would like to thank each and every teacher who has devoted his or her life to teaching our children, molding their values, and raising them to be good citizens of the country. Maraming salamat galing sa aming lahat. Maraming salamat galing sa bansang Pilipinas."

This year, NTM carries the theme Guro: Kabalikat sa Pagbabago, and aims to honor those who are in the teaching profession The event also intends to acknowledge and give emphasis on the crucial role, loyal service, and dedicated commitment of teachers in developing globally-minded citizens, nurturing families, strengthening communities, and building the nation; revitalize the image of and respect for teaching as a vocation by increasing public awareness on the value of teachers in the Philippine society; take the occasion as an opportunity in building the image of teaching as an attractive and fulfilling profession; generate widespread support and assistance for teachers; and express gratitude for the positive influences of teachers on Filipino learners.

"Ang atin pong Kagawaran ng Edukasyon ay nangungunang kabalikat ng ating pamahalaan para makamit ang tunay na pagbabago. At wala pong duda na ang mga guro ay mga magiting na instrumento at katuwang para makamit ito,"DepEd Assistant Secretary for Legal and Legislative Affairs Atty. Tonisito Umali said.

Synchronized programs, projects and activities (SPPAs), school-based celebrations, including the recitation of A Prayer for Teachers, or Panalangin Para sa mga Guro, will be observed in all public and private elementary and secondary schools, including district, division and regional offices.

Some of the notable activities include the unveiling of the 2016 NTM Stamps of the Philippine Postal Corporation at the DepEd Central Office on September 8; an NTM celebration hosted by the DepEd NCR at the Cuneta Astrodome on September 30; and a whole-day culmination program at the Ateneo de Davao University in Davao City on October 5, 2016.

To encourage and boost public participation, all schools, school districts, schools division, regional and central offices are required to post streamers about the said celebrations. The digital files of the streamer designs may be downloaded at

Furthermore, the DepEd launched the NTM Twibbon, which allows followers to customize their Facebook profile photo with the NTM badge. This feature may be accessed at

The NTM celebration is guided by the NTM Coordinating Council, where the DepEd Secretary sits as the Co-Chairperson. The NTM Coordinating Council is composed of various government agencies, educational institutions, private companies, and non-government organizations - all sharing the advocacy of appreciating teachers through various unique initiatives.

The NTM celebration is pursuant to Presidential Proclamation No. 242, or Declaring the Period from September 5 to October 5 of Every Year as National Teachers' Month; and to Republic Act 10743, An Act Declaring the Fifth Day of October of Every Year as the National Teachers' Day, which was signed January of this year. The WTD celebration is designated by the United Nations Education and Cultural Organizations (UNESCO).

Search for Outstanding Teachers (SOT)

Every year, Metrobank - in partnership with the DepEd and the Commission on Higher Education (CHED) - bestows honor upon the teaching profession by recognizing teachers who manifest profound commitment to the development of the youth through exemplary competence, remarkable dedication to their work, and effective educational leadership.

The Elementary Competition winners of this year's SOT are Winona Diola of Muntinlupa City; Rujealyn Cancino of Lingayen, Pangasinan; Josephine Chonie ObseAares of Butuan City, Agusan del Norte; and Arnol Rosales of Naujan, Oriental Mindoro. For the Secondary Competition, the winners are Dr. Roy Basa of Bacolod City, Negros Occidental; Nelson Agoyaoy of Caloocan City; Ma. Regaele Olarte of Muntinlupa City; and Dr. Katherine Faith Bustos of Bayombong, Nueva Vizcaya. Dr. Ernelea Cao of University of the Philippines Diliman and Dr. Mark Anthony Torres of Mindanao State University-Iligan Institute of Technology are the winners for the Higher Education Competition.

The presentation of 2016 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Teachers is set on September 8, 2016, 11AM at the Bulwagan ng Karunugan, DepEd Central Office in Pasig City.

Campaign to say #ThankYouTeacher

Students and other stakeholders may express their appreciation towards their teachers in many ways possible-a simple "thank you" letter is one of these.

However, the DepEd also extends the celebration by taking to social media and encouraging the online community to send messages to their teachers through photos and videos, and using the hashtags #ThankYouTeacher and #NationalTeachersMonth.

Partner agencies and the private sector also join the month-long celebration by offering discounts, promos and freebies in several establishments. Teachers may check for the updated list on the DepEd Facebook page (album URL:

These efforts are pursuant to the DepEd Memorandum No. 139, s. 2016 or the 2016 National Teachers' Month and National Teachers' Day/World Teachers' Day Celebrations which is available online at

Source: Philippine Information Agency