Duterte appoints Jimenez to head PACC

MANILA -- President Rodrigo Duterte has appointed Volunteer Against Crime and Corruption (VACC) chair Dante Lazaro Jimenez as chairman of the Presidential Anti-Corruption Commission (PACC).

Malacanang released Jimenez's appointment on Monday along with Rickson Chiong, Greco Antonious Beda Banta Belgica and Gregorio Luis Contacto III who were appointed PACC commissioners.

In an effort to boost his anti-corruption campaign, President Duterte signed Executive Order (EO) No. 43 creating the PACC on October 4, 2017.

Under the EO, the PACC is mandated to directly assist the President in investigating and/or hearing administrative cases primarily involving graft and or corruption against all presidential appointees.

On Monday, President Duterte renewed his commitment to fight graft and corruption, warning everyone in the government not to do illegal practices under his watch.

This is I wanted to say for everybody: Not under my watch, please. Just give the Filipino a respite for about four years, Duterte said in his speech during turnover ceremony of 26 units Mitsubishi patrol vehicles and inaugurations of new regional crime laboratory office in Davao City.

Duterte renewed his challenge as he admitted that Commission on Higher Education (CHED) Chairperson Patricia Licuanan has been dismissed over allegations of excessive foreign trips.

Before I end, let me just say to everyone that I have dismissed Licuanan today, the one in CHED, he said.

Meanwhile, President Duterte appointed Glorioso Ventura Miranda as Bases Conversion and Development Authority Board of Directors member; Leticia Villamoran Damasco as LBP Leasing and Finance Corp. Board of Directors member; Nestor Obciana Jardin as Cultural Center of the Philippines board member; and, Pelagio Sagusay Paguican as Philippine Postal Corp. board member.

President Duterte also appointed Nomer Abel Canlas as Director III of the Public Works and Highways while he approved the promotion of Police Chief Supt. Noli Galsim Talino to the rank of Police Director.

Duterte also approved the promotion of Noel Bayaca Vallo and Segundo Canapi Lagundi Jr. to the rank of Police Senior Superintendent.

Promoted to the rank of Police Chief Superintendent, on the other hand, include Edwin Sadama de Ocampo, Carlito Navarro Feliciano, Rey Lyndon Toledo Lawas, Roland Barjan Anduyan, John Cresensio Bulalacao and R'win Sta. Ana Pagkalinawan.

Source: Philippine News Agency