European Commission proposes EU to cancel visa regime with Turkey

The European Commission has proposed the European Union (EU) to cancel the visa regime with Turkey, the TRT Haber TV channel quoted European Commissioner for Competition Margrethe Vestager as saying May 4.

The European Commission discussed the cancellation of the visa regime between the EU and Turkey on May 4.

Turkey's Foreign Minister Mevlut Cavusoglu has said that the EU should keep its word on canceling the visa regime with Turkey. The minister noted that Ankara has in fact fulfilled its commitments to the EU for canceling the visa regime.

Earlier, Turkish Ministry for EU Affairs said that Turkey cancelled the visa regime for the citizens of all 28 EU countries on May 3, but the visa-free regime will be effective after the EU cancels the visa regime for Turkish citizens.

It is expected that after Turkey fulfills all 72 commitments to the EU, the latter will cancel the visa regime for Turkish citizens.

After cancelling the visa regime, Turkish citizens will be able to stay without visa for three months in the following countries: Germany, Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, the Netherlands, Italy, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Iceland, Lithuania, Latvia, Luxembourg, Liechtenstein, Hungary, Malta, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia and Greece.

Source: Trend