Feature: Novaliches Diocese has beautifully-named parishes, churches

MANILA-- When it comes to beautiful names of churches and parishes, name it and the 15-year-old Diocese of Novaliches, divided between Quezon City and Caloocan City, most probably has it.

The Novaliches Diocese, which was established on Dec. 7, 2002 and canonically erected by Pope John Paul II on Jan. 16, 2003 from its ecclesiastical province, the Archdiocese of Manila, has territorial jurisdiction over the northern portions of the cities of Quezon and Caloocan.

According to the Diocese website, it has a jurisdiction area of 138 square kilometers, a dozen vicariates with 68 parishes and churches at present -- all emanating from the 160-year-old Parish and Shrine of Our Lady of Mercy located at the old town of Novaliches which was divided in 1948 between Quezon City and Caloocan, then still a municipality of Rizal province.

The seat of the diocese, which is dedicated to Jesus, the Good Shepherd, is located at Regalado Avenue Extension, Fairview, Novaliches, Quezon City. The current head of the diocese is Bishop Antonio Tobias. Its present vicar general is Rev. Fr. Antonio E. Labiao Jr.

Tobias has been serving as the bishop of Novaliches since his appointment on Nov. 25, 2003, succeeding now Novaliches Bishop Emeritus Teodoro C. Bacani.

The territorial jurisdiction of the Diocese of Novaliches covers big portions of two premier cities which have their own dioceses -- Quezon City and Caloocan City. It includes Districts 2, 5 and 6 of Quezon City and 23 barangays in North Caloocan City.

The dozen vicariates of the diocese are the:

Christ the King, Our Lady of Lourdes, Sto. Nino, Holy Cross, Ascension of Our Lord, Good Shepherd, Holy Spirit, Our Lady of Mercy, San Bartolome, San Isidro Labrador, St. Peter, and Ina ng Lupang Pangako.

The churches and parishes carrying beautiful names in these vicariates are:

Christ the King Parish (BF Homes, Novaliches, Caloocan City); Mother of the Redeemer Parish (Deparo, Caloocan); Our Lady of Fatima Parish (Urduja Village, Caloocan); Our Lady of Peace and Good Voyage Parish (Sampaguita, Camarin, Caloocan); Sacred Heard Parish (Caybiga, Caloocan); Sta. Krus Parish (Bagumbong, Caloocan); Sto. Nino Parish (Congressional Village, Bagumbong, Caloocan).

Epiphany of Our Lord Parish (Kiko, Camarin, Caloocan); Mary, Mother of the Church Parish (Zabarte Road, Camarin, Caloocan); Our Lady of Lourdes Parish (Area B, Camarin, Caloocan); Ang Muling Pagkabuhay ng Ating Panginoon (Phase 10, Bagong Silang, Caloocan); Ina ng Laging Saklolo Parish (Bagong Silang, Caloocan); Our Lady of the Holy Rosary (Langit 1, Tala, Caloocan); San Jose, Amang Mapagkalinga (Phase 5, Bagong Silang, Caloocan); St. Joseph the Worker Parish (Barracks, Tala, Caloocan); Sto. Nino Parish (Phase 1, Bagong Silang, Caloocan); San Roque Parish (Phase 9, Bagong Silang, Caloocan);

Holy Cross Parish (Amparo Village, Novaliches, Caloocan); Holy Spirit Parish (Pangarap Village, Caloocan); Ascension of Our Lord Parish (Greater Lagro, Novaliches, Quezon City); Visitation of Our Lady Parish (Sacred Heart Village, Pasong Putik, Novaliches, Quezon City); Divine Savior Parish (North Fairview, Quezon City); Good Shepherd Cathedral Shrine (Fairview Park, Quezon City); Holy Trinity Parish (Don Jose Heights, Barangay Commonwealth, Quezon City); Mabuting Pastol Parish (Rotary Drive, Commonwealth, Quezon City); Kristong Hari Parish (Commonwealth, Quezon City); Corpus Christi Parish (Palmera Homes Phase 1, Barangay Sta. Monica, Novaliches, Quezon City);

Hearts of Jesus and Mary Parish (Veterans Village, Barangay Holy Spirit, Quezon City); Holy Spirit Parish (BF Homes, Holy Spirit, Novaliches); Jesus of Nazareth Parish (Villa Beatriz, Old Balara, Quezon City); San Jose, Ang Tagapagtanggol Parish (Dona Juana Homes, Holy Spirit, Quezon City); Immaculate Conception Parish (Barangay San Agustin, Novaliches, Quezon City); Ina ng Buhay Parish (Jordan Heights, Damong Maliit, Nagkaisang Nayon, Novaliches); Jesus, Lord of Divine Mercy Parish (Hobart Village, Kaligayahan, Novaliches); Mary the Queen Parish (Neopolitan, Novaliches); Parish and Shrine of Our Lady of Mercy (Quirino Highway, Novaliches Bayan); San Isidro Labrador Parish (Villa Nova-Amparo Capri, Novaliches); St. Maximilian Mary Kolbe Parish (Greenfields I, Kaligayahan, Novaliches):

Banal na Sakramento Parish (Talipapa, Novaliches, Quezon City); Christ, King of the Universe Parish (Kingspoint Subd., Barangay Bagbag, Novaliches); Holy Family Parish (Gulod, Novaliches); Parokya ng Pagkabuhay (Pagkabuhay Road, Bagbag); San Bartolome Parish (Quirino Highway, San Bartolome, Novaliches); The Our Father Parish (Barangay Sauyo, Novaliches); Jesus, Lord of the Divine Mercy Parish (Barangay Pasong Tamo); Our Lady of Consolation Parish (Mira-nila Homes, Tandang Sora, Quezon City); Our Lady of the Annunciation Parish and Shrine of the Incarnation (St. Dominic 3 Subd., Tandang Sora, Quezon City); San Isidro Labrador Parish (Philand Drive, Tandang Sora, Quezon City); San Lorenzo Ruiz Parish (Barangay Culiat, Quezon City); Santuario de San Vicente de Paul Parish (Barangay Tandang Sora, Quezon City);

Parroquia de la Nuestra Senora de la Paz y Buen Viaje (Capitol Hills, Old Balara, Quezon City); Presentation of Our Lord Parish (Filinvest I, Batasan Hills, Quezon City); San Antonio de Padua Parish (Batasan-San Mateo Road, Quezon City); St. Michael, The Archangel Parish (Capitol Site Homes, Old Balara, Quezon City); St. Peter Parish: Shrine of Leaders (Commonwealth Avenue, Quezon City);

Christ the King Parish (Filinvest II, Batasan Hills, Quezon City); Ina ng Lupang Pangako Parish (Payatas B, Quezon City); Mother of Divine Providence Parish (Payatas A, Quezon City); and Sagrada Familia Parish (Sitio Veterans, Bagong Silangan, Quezon City).

Source: Philippines News Agency