Foreign ministers adopt ASEAN declaration on civil service role, other outcome documents

MANILA-- Foreign ministers of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) on Friday adopted several outcome documents, including an ASEAN declaration recognizing the role of civil service as a catalyst for achieving ASEAN Community Vision 2025.

In a press briefing, Acting Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA) spokesman Robespierre Bolivar said the ASEAN Coordinating Council considered the outcome documents of the 30th ASEAN Summit, which they have endorsed to ASEAN leaders.

The council comprises the ASEAN foreign ministers.

Bolivar said the documents also included reports of the ASEAN political-security, economic and socio-cultural community councils.

Ten Southeast Asian leaders, including Philippine President Rodrigo Duterte, are attending the 30th ASEAN Summit slated here on Saturday.

The (ASEAN) leaders will hold their summit meeting where they are expected to have discussions on a wide range of issues, including strengthening the ASEAN community in pursuit of ASEAN Vision 2025, regional and international issues of interest and enhancing ASEAN's relations with its external partners, he said.

ASEAN Vision 2025 aims to sustain the momentum of regional integration and further contribute to strengthening the ASEAN community-building efforts.

ASEAN foreign ministers held meetings on Friday here, where they tackled various regional and international issues, including developments in the Korean peninsula, the situation in the West Philippine Sea/South China Sea, transnational crimes such as piracy and armed robbery against ships, and violent extremism and terrorism.

Recognizing the impact of North Korea's nuclear tests on international peace and stability, they urged the Democratic People's Republic of Korea's (DPRK) and all parties concerned to exercise self-restraint in order to de-escalate the tension and refrain from actions that may aggravate the situation.

The Philippines chairs this year's ASEAN, which is celebrating its 50th year.

ASEAN groups Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

Source: Philippine News Agency