House installs Yap, Pichay as new deputy speakers

MANILA The House of Representatives on Wednesday elected two new deputy speakers following the ascension of Pampanga Rep. Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo to the speakership.

Surigao del Sur Rep. Prospero Pichay Jr. replaced Marikina Rep. Miro Quimbo as deputy speaker who resigned from his post as he pursued his bid for minority leadership of the Liberal Party-led minority bloc.

The lower chamber, however, still recognized Quezon Rep. Danilo Suarez, as the House minority leader.

Bohol Rep. Arthur Yap replaced Cebu Rep. Gwendolyn Garcia as deputy speaker. Garcia was elected as the new House Economic Affairs Committee chairperson. (PNA)

Source: Philippine News Agency