Manila parishes start reciting ‘Prayer for Barangay Elections’

MANILA -- All churches and parishes under the Archdiocese of Manila on Sunday have started reciting the Prayer for the Barangay Elections in all masses as requested by the Catholic Bishops' Conference of the Philippines (CBCP).

This is in response to the circular letter released by Rev. Fr. Reginald Malicdem of the Chancery Office of the Archdiocese of Manila on Prayer for the Barangay Election dated May 4, 2018.

The letter was addressed to all parish priests, rectors of shrines, chaplains of chaplaincies, and superiors of religious communities in the archdiocese.

Luis Antonio G. Cardinal Tagle, Archbishop of Manila, encouraged the faithful to pray the Prayer for the Barangay Election after the Post Communion Prayer in all Masses from May 6 to 13 upon the proposal of the Catholic Bishops' Conference of the Philippines, part of the letter reads.

The prayer reads: Lord God, we come to you as the Barangay Elections approaches. In Christ, you have given us the model of a servant who lay's his life down for his sheep.

Give us the wisdom to elect women and men who will work for truth, justice, and the upliftment of human dignity. We ask you to enlighten our minds and hearts -- so that we may search for Shepherds after your Son's heart to watch over our barangays.

Teach us Christ's way of looking at people -- so that we will be able to give a voice to the poor, the powerless, the abandoned, and the oppressed.

And finally, grant us the gift of discernment -- so that we may wisely exercise the gift of suffrage as an expression of our desire for peace and love for neighbor. We ask this through Christ our Lord. Amen. Mary, Queen of Peace, pray for us. Saints Lorenzo Ruiz and Pedro Calungsod, pray for us. Saint Michael and all Holy Angels, watch over us.

The letter was issued as candidates are now busy promoting themselves to the electorate since the campaign period has already started last May 4. It will run until May 12.

On May 14, Election Day, regular voters will be electing eight barangay officials, including one chairman and seven kagawads, while youth voters will be choosing one Sangguniang Kabataan (SK) chairman and seven SK kagawads.

There are more than 57 million registered voters in the forthcoming polls. (PNA)

Source: Philippine News Agency