Marcos returns to ‘active duty status’

MANILA- Supt. Marvin Marcos' assignment as head of Criminal Investigation and Detection (CIDG) Region 12 cannot be termed as "reinstated" as he was not dismissed from the service in the first place.

Philippine National Police (PNP) spokesperson Chief Supt. Dionardo Carlos, in a press briefing Friday, said the proper term was "revert to active duty status."

Carlos pointed out that when Marcos was jailed in connection with the death of Albuera Mayor Rolando Espinosa and another inmate last November, the official was automatically placed on "leave of absence" status.

And when he was released and allowed to post bail, his "leave of absence" status automatically reverted to "active duty status".

With Marcos now being on "active duty status", Carlos said there was no reason for him not to report for work because he remained under the payroll of the PNP.

This was the reason why Marcos returned to the CIDG, and since the position of CIDG Region 12 chief was vacant, he was then assigned there, he said.

The PNP spokesperson said they simply followed the legal procedure in this matter.

Earlier, PNP chief Director General Ronald "Bato" Dela Rosa has confirmed the resolution of an administrative case which favored Marcos and the 18 other policemen in Leyte linked in the Espinosa killing.

This followed statements that Marcos, the former head of CIDG-8, is set to be assigned as the new head of the CIDG-12 or the Soccsksargen region.

CIDG head Director Roel Obusan has confirmed this adding that 15 of Marcos' men were also allowed to be reinstated.

The Department of Justice (DOJ) had earlier filed murder charges against Marcos and 18 of his men for the Nov. 5, 2016 killing of Espinosa and Raul Yap inside their detention cells in a sub-provincial jail in Baybay, Leyte while being served a search warrant for allegedly possessing firearms.

The other 18 policemen included Supt. Santi Noel Matira; Chief Insp. Leo Larraga; Senior Insp. Fritz Blanco; Senior Insp. Deogracias Diaz; Insp. Lucredito Candilosas; SPO4 Melvin Cayubit; PO3 Johnny IbaAez; SPO4 Juanito Duarte; PO1 Lloyd Ortigueza; PO1 Bhernard Orpilla; SPO2 Benjamin Dacallos; PO3 Norman Abellanosa; PO1 Jerlans Cabiyaan; PO1 Clixto Canillas Jr; SPO1 Mark Christian Cadilo; PO2 John Ruel Doculan; SPO2 Antonio Docil; and PO2 Jaime Dacsal.

Source: Philippine News Agency