NIA welcomes its new Administrator

QUEZON CITY, March 31 -- After swearing in as the new member of the NIA Board of Directors before its Acting Chairman, Cabinet Secretary Leoncio B. Evasco, Jr., General Ricardo Ramoran Visaya (Ret.) was elected as the new Administrator of NIA during the 922nd Regular NIA Board Meeting held on 28 March 2017 at the Malacanang Premier Guest House. He will also act as the concurrent Vice-Chairman of the NIA Board.

Cabinet Secretary imparted some words to the new Administrator. Evasco said that leaders should lead and be accountable to its members. He added that employees should always transact in a very transparent manner, especially that we are in the government; ensure checks and balance, transparency, and accountability in government dealings.

As Directors, he reiterated, We simply facilitate. We plan the overall conduct of the agency by laying down policies and guidelines. Our role ends when the role of the Administrator in day-to-day dealings of the agency begins. He noted, however, that the Administrator should always keep in mind that he is accountable to the Board in ensuring proper implementation of NIA policies and guidelines.

He also reminded Administrator Visaya that as the new Administrator, his heart and mind should always be for the farmers as they play a very crucial role in our food security. To which Visaya replied, our farmers are the number one clientele of NIA. We will give them what is due them in order to help increase their production.

Visaya also vowed to fight graft and corruption. He plans to devise mechanisms to ensure maximum transparency. He also said that with the help of the Office of the Cabinet Secretary, he will push for the amendment of Executive Order No. 203, s. 2015 or the application of SSL IV to NIA (and other losing GOCCs). This is a long overdue salary increase for the benefit of the deserving and hardworking employees of NIA.

Gen. Ricardo R. Visaya (Ret.) assumed as the 47th Chief of Staff of the Armed Forces of the Philippines on 1 July 2016. He retired on 8 December 2016 upon reaching the age of 56. He was awarded with the Legion of Honor degree of Commander by President Rodrigo Roa Duterte.

Source; Philippines Information Agency