No voter certificate fee for all Mindanao residents – Comelec

MANILA-- The Commission on Elections (Comelec) has exempted all registered voters in Mindanao from paying the prescribed fee of PHP75 for the issuance of voter's certificate.

Based on Resolution No. 10186 promulgated on June 10, the Commission en banc approved the proposal to include all voters in the region, exempting them to pay the said fee.

"Exempt all registered voters in the cities and municipalities of Mindanao, in paying the PHP75.00 certification fee for the issuance of Voter's Certification until otherwise ordered by the Commission En Banc," the order said.

It was the Community and Family Services International (CFSI) Sub - Office, Zamboanga City, sought for the exemption of "untagged IDPs (Internally Displaced Persons)" in the said city, but the Commission en banc has decided to include the whole Mindanao.

"WHEREAS, during the regular session of the Commission En Banc on June 6, 2017, when the request of the CFSI was taken up, there was a proposal to exempt not only the IDPs in Zamboanga City but all registered voters in Mindanao in the payment of certification fee, taking into consideration the declaration of Martial Law (Proclamation No. 216) in Mindanao on May 23, 2017, as a result of the peace and order situation in Marawi City, Lanao del Sur. The proposal was approved. Further, the issuance of the Voter's Certification free of charge in Mindanao shall be effective, until revoked by the Commission En Banc," it added.

The Voter's Certification will be utilized as attachment by "untagged IDPs" in applying for birth registration records and subsequent enrollment as target beneficiaries in the Zamboanga Recovery Project funded by the Department of Foreign Affairs of Australia.

With this, the poll body said voters shall personally claim during office hours (8 a.m. - 5 p.m.), their Voters' Certification at the Offices of the Election Officer (OEOs) where they are registered.

On the other hand, registered voters in Marawi City who are staying at evacuation centers in Cagayan de Oro City and Iligan City, must claim their certification at the Offices of the Provincial Election Supervisors in Misamis Oriental and Lanao del Norte, respectively.

It added that the Voter's Certification must be duly signed by the issuing office, bearing the dry seal of the Commission and a statement that the same is being issued free of charge.

Source: Philippines News Agency