October 26 polls in S. Leyte will be automated

MANILA The October 26 polls in the 1st and 2nd districts of Southern Leyte will be automated, the Commission on Elections (Comelec) said.

According to Resolution No. 10608 dated October 7, the Automated Election System (AES) will be used in the elections for the two districts in the said province.

But the poll body noted that the election results will be manually uploaded using Secure Digital (SD) cards from precincts to municipal/city boards of canvassers, through compact discs from municipal or city boards of canvassers, unlike in the national polls where results are transmitted through telecommunications.

It added that the elections will be held for the 1st district in the City of Maasin, and the municipalities of Macrohon, Padre Burgos, Limasawa, Malitbog, Tomas Oppus, and Bontoc.

In the 2nd district, the polls will be in the municipalities of Sogod, Libagon, Liloan, San Francisco, Pintuyan, San Ricardo, Saint Bernard, Anahawan, San Juan, Hinundayan, and Silago.

All registered voters in the province of Southern Leyte are allowed to participate in the October 26 polls.

The established and clustered precincts as well as the polling places used during the 13 May 2019 national and local elections, shall be used for the 26 October 2019 elections, subject to such changes as the Commission may authorize, the resolution said.

The Emergency Accessible Polling Places (EAPPs) established for purposes of the 13 May 2019 national and local elections, if any, shall be adopted for purposed of 26 October 2019 elections, it added.

The passage of Republic Act No. 11198 reapportioned Southern Leyte from one to two legislative districts.

After the law was passed, the Comelec scheduled the polls for the said province this month. (PNA)

Source: Philippines News Agency