PNP urges wanted militants to surrender

MANILA Philippine National Police (PNP) chief Director General Oscar Albayalde reiterated his call for the voluntary surrender of four progressive leaders, who were ordered arrested by a Nueva Ecija court.

"(W)e have received a copy of the arrest order issued by Honorable Evelyn Atienza Turla, Presiding Judge of RTC Branch 40 of Palayan City against Satur Ocampo, et. al., The PNP is duty bound to implement orders of judicial authorities. That is our constitutional mandate that law enforcers must abide with due consideration to human rights and dignity of the accused," Albayalde told reporters in a press briefing Monday.

"I have directed the CIDG over the weekend to immediately send out arresting teams to serve the warrant of arrest against Satur Ocampo, Liza Maza, Teodoro CasiAo, Rafael Mariano, Vicente Cayetano, Delfin Pimentel and Emeterio Antalan. However, I am also appealing to these individuals to just turn themselves in and to submit themselves to judicial processes," the PNP chief added.

Earlier on Monday, progressive groups held a protest in front of the PNP headquarters denouncing the impending arrests.

Last July 11, the Nueva Ecija Regional Trial Court Branch 40 issued an arrest warrant against former Bayan Muna Representatives Satur Ocampo and Teddy Casino, Rafael Mariano, former Anakpawis representative and Agrarian Reform secretary and Liza Maza, former Gabriela representative and now head of the National Anti-Poverty Commission (NAPC).

They were tagged in the abduction and murder case of New People's Army rebels Danilo Felipe in 2001, Jimmy Peralta in 2003 and Carlito Bayudang in 2004. (PNA)

Source: Philippine News Agency