Senator congratulates Miss France, PHL’s Maxine Medina

MANILA-- A Senator congratulated the new Miss Universe 2016, Miss France Iris Mittenaere, on Monday thanking her for serving as an inspiration to many fans and supporters.

"Today, we witnessed a gathering of beautiful women in the universe, and Miss France, Iris Mittenaere, shone brightest. Congratulations to you, Ms. Mittenaere, for being crowned Ms. Universe 2016!" Sen. Nancy Binay said in a statement.

Mittenaere bested 85 other candidates from around the world in winning the coveted crown.

Miss Haiti Raquel Pelissier and Miss Colombia Andrea Tovar finished first and second runners-up, respectively.

The top three finalists where asked to mention something they failed at and what they've learned from their experience.

Mittanaere's translated answer was: "I failed several times in my life. So I thought I failed the first time that I went on a casting because my name was not in the list. And the very next day, I found I was in a new book. So I think when you fail, you have to be elevated and you have to try again and keep going. If tonight, I'm not one of the winners, I will still have the great honor being one of the three finalists. So I think I have failed before but for me this is a great first opportunity."

"Thank you for teaching us to try and keep going to attain our dreams," the senator, who is chair of the Senate Committee on Tourism, said.

Binay also congratulated Miss Philippines Maxine Medina for making it to the top 6 finalists.

"I also congratulate our country's representative to the pageant, Maxine Medina, for displaying tremendous grace and poise amidst the pressures of the pageant," Binay said.

"Ms. Medina also exemplified the beauty of our country, as well as the world famous hospitality of the Filipino nation," she added.

Aside from Medina, the top six candidates were Miss France, Miss Kenya, Miss Colombia, Miss Thailand, and Miss Haiti.

Judges include TV star and former model Cynthia Bailey, Emmy and Tony award-winning producer Francine LeFrak, and editorial director of fashion magazine PAPER Mickey Boardman.

Also in panel of judges are Miss Universe 2011 Leila Lopes, Miss Universe 1994 Sushmita Sen, and Miss Universe 1993 Dayanara Torres.

The ladies and audiences were serenaded by Grammy-nominated rapper Flo Rida and Grammy award-winning R&B group Boys II Men.(PNA)

Source: Philippines News Agency