(YEARENDER) Red Lions roar in 2016

Winning is everything for the San Beda Red Lions who were crowned champions this year in the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA), the country's longest-running collegiate league.

Under coach Jamike Jarin, the Red Lions reclaimed the title after posting a 2-0 sweep over the Arellano University Chiefs in their best-of-three final showdown at the Mall of Asia Arena in Pasay City on October 11.

It was a sweet victory for the Mendiola-based cagers, who were dethroned by the Letran Knights last year. The loss ended the Red Lions' five straight championships (2010-2014), a record they shared with the San Sebastian Stags (1993-1997).

Jarin gave credit to the solid teamwork shown by his players throughout the season. He also noted the contribution of Dan Sara, Cameroon's Arnauld Noah and 6'7" Donald Tankoua, Fil-American Davon Potts, AC Soberano, Javee Mocon, Robert Bolick, Ben Adamos and Jomari Presbitero.

The Red Lions enjoyed a twice-to-beat advantage in the semifinal round. They lost to the University of Perpetual Help Altas, 83-87, but came back strong in their next game, 78-63, to arrange a title showdown with the Chiefs.

In the finals, the Red Lions won Game One (88-85) and Game Two (83-73) to capture their 20th title.

The Red Cubs were not as lucky as their senior counterparts, losing to the Mapua Red Robins, 1-2, in their best-of-three championship battle.

The Red Robins took Game One (83-64) and the Red Cubs tied the series at 1-1 with an 81-78 victory in Game Two. But the Red Robins bounced back in Game Three (84-67) to win their first title since 2000 and ended the Red Cubs' seven-year reign.

Aside from men's basketball, San Beda College also ruled the swimming competitions with the men's team earning 1,467 points, the women's squad tallying 1,300 points and the juniors team accumulating 1,037.5 points.

Source: Philippines News Agency