Expect more long weekends next year

MANILA-- MalacaAang on Wednesday announced the regular and special non-working holidays for 2018.

The declaration was contained in Proclamation No. 269 that was signed by President Rodrigo Duterte on July 17.

As provided the regular holidays of 2018 are:

New Year's Day, January 1 (Monday);

Maundy Thursday, March 29; Good Friday, March 30;

Araw ng Kagitingan, April 9 (Monday);

Labor Day, May 1 (Tuesday);

Independence Day, June 12 (Tuesday);

National Heroe's Day, August 27 (Monday);

Bonifacio Day, November 30 (Friday);

Christmas Day, December 25 (Tuesday); and

Rizal Day, December 30 (Sunday).

Meanwhile, the special non-working holidays for 2018 are:

Chinese New Year, February 16 (Friday); EDSA People Power Revolution Anniversary, February 25 (Sunday);

Black Saturday, March 31;

Ninoy Aquino Day, August 21 (Tuesday);

All Saint's Day, November 1 (Thursday);

Last Day of the Year, December 31, (Monday).

November 2, a Friday, and December 24, which falls on a Monday, are also declared as additional special non-working holidays.

In the meantime, the national holidays for the observance of Eidul Fitr and Eidul Adha shall be iannounced after the approximate dates of the said Islamic holidays have been determined in accordance with the Islamic calendar (Hijra) of the lunar calendar, or upon Islamic astronomical calculations, whichever is possible or convenient.

To this end, the National Commission on Muslim Filipino (NCMF) shall inform the Office of the President of the actual dates on which the respective Islamic holidays shall fall.

It could be noted that several of the holidays fall either on a Monday or a Friday leading to long weekends.

Source: Philippine News Agency