Comelec to raffle ballot spots of party-lists for 2019 polls

MANILA The order of listing of party-list groups will be known on Wednesday, as the Commission on Elections (Comelec) is set to hold a raffle to determine their places in the official ballots for the May 2019 polls.

According to Comelec spokesperson James Jimenez, the automated raffle will be held 10 a.m. at the 8th floor of Comelec main office in Intramuros, Manila.

We will be using the (automated) raffling program... no more use of lottery drum, Jimenez said in an interview Monday.

The automated raffle will be initiated by a poll body Commissioner.

The Comelec said that the alphabetical listing of all eligible party-list organizations shall be displayed in a projector screen before the activity

After the raffle, the order of listing will be printed out and will be shown on the projector screen.

Those included in the raffle whose registrations are final and who were able to file their Manifestations of Intent to Participate in the Party-List Elections on or before May 2, 2018 will be included in the raffle.

It will also include existing party-list groups, whose registration and accreditation were cancelled by the Commission but were able to secure a status quo ante order from the Supreme Court (SC).

Groups whose Petitions for Registration were denied by the Commission but were able to secure a mandatory injunction from the SC will also be part of the raffle.

Likewise included are those whose registration and accreditation are still pending with the Commission by raffle date, as well as those whose Petitions for Registration were denied by the Commission but have pending Motions for Reconsideration as of raffle date.

Meanwhile, the Comelec said party-list groups, who fail or neglect to send a representative during the raffle, shall be considered to have waived their right to participate.

But, he added that they will be included in the alphabetical listing, which will follow the raffled list.

For example, out of 100 party list organizations, 50 participated in the raffle. The first 50 spots will be random while the next 50 slots will be listed alphabetically, Jimenez explained.

The poll body first introduced the raffle system in the 2013 elections. (PNA)

Source: Philippine News Agency