DA releases Php75-M to support poverty reduction in 3 provinces

The Department of Agriculture (DA) 12 has released Php75 million to North Cotabato, Sarangani and Maguindanao meant to assist priority provinces move out of poverty.

Each provincial local government unit (PLGU) identified recipients of the government's Special Area for Agricultural Development (SAAD) program received check worth Php25 million.

The amount each received by said PLGUs was the first tranche of the commitment of the DA per target province.

Aside from these provinces, the other area beneficiaries of the SAAD program include Apayao, Eastern Samar, Western Samar, Northern Samar, Negros Oriental, Zamboanga del Norte and Lanao del Sur.

Under SAAD, the DA will focus on top 10 prioritized poorest provinces, in line with President Rodrigo Duterte's thrust to increase food production and to trim down poverty prevalence through the enormous provision of livelihood projects.

Meanwhile, Engineer Milagros Casis, DA 12 Regional Executive Director, urged farmer and fisher groups and local governments not included in this special program "to propose for more agri-fishery interventions under our agency's regular programs."

DA Secretary Emmanuel PiAol last August led the launching of SAAD program in Kidapawan City and called on the proactive participation of the LGUs and all agri-fishery stakeholders in this poverty alleviation initiative.

Source: Philippines News Agency