LPA to turn into tropical depression by Tuesday

MANILA The low-pressure area (LPA) spotted near Agusan del Norte is expected to turn into a tropical depression (TD) within the next 24 hours, the Philippine, Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (PAGASA) said in its 4-p.m. weather bulletin on Monday.

PAGASA weather specialist Ariel Rojas said the LPA, which was located 760 kilometers east of Butuan City, Agusan del Norte, will turn into a TD within the next 24 hours.

The TD will be named "Domeng", but is not forecast to make a landfall inside the Philippine area of responsibility.

Eastern Visayas and Caraga will have cloudy skies with moderate to occasionally heavy rains and thunderstorms due to the LPA. PAGASA cautioned of possible flooding or landslides due to moderate or occasional heavy rains in these areas.

Rojas also said the intertropical convergence zone (ITCZ), a known breeding ground for typhoons, will continue to affect the Bicol region, Visayas, and Mindanao. PAGASA warned of possible flooding or landslides due to light to moderate rains with at times heavy rains in these areas.

Metro Manila and Mimaropa will also have a "generally fair weather" with occasional rains in the afternoon and evening due to local thunderstorms.

Palawan, Western Visayas, and Mindanao will have moderate to rough coastal waters brought by moderate to strong winds from the southwest to west.

Other parts of Visayas will similarly experience moderate to rough coastal waters, caused by moderate to strong winds from the northeast to northwest.

The remaining parts of Luzon will have slight to moderate coastal waters due to light to moderate winds blowing from the southwest to northwest.

The country will have a temperature range of 17-35C until Friday.

On Monday, PAGASA recorded a peak temperature of 35.4C and a minimum temperature of 25C at the PAGASA weather station in Quezon City.

From June 7 to 10, "Domeng" is forecast to pull the west or southwest monsoon and bring rains to Metro Manila, Mimaropa, and CALABARZON. (PNA)

Source: Philippine News Agency