NAIA Terminal 4 set to be all-domestic terminal by next week (Philippines News Agency)

The Ninoy Aquino International Airport (NAIA) Terminal 4 is set to claim its all-domestic terminal status anew following the transfer of its international flights to Terminal 3 starting Aug 15.

According to the Manila International Airport Authority (MIAA), this comes after the reactivation of the Terminal 4’s secondary runway – particularly runway 31 – for the takeoff of Airbus A320s and smaller aircraft.

Larger aircraft such as jet or Airbus A320 aircraft, operating out of Terminal 4 will transfer to Terminal 3, while smaller aircraft such as turboprop or ATR aircraft will transfer from Terminal 3 to Terminal 4.

MIAA general manager Jose Angel Honrado, in a statement said that the new scheme would increase runway utilization at the NAIA.

With the reactivation of runway 31, flight movements can now take place concurrently on both runways, Honrado said.

Management is hopeful that this will further ease aircraft traffic at the NAIA, he added.

To date, MIAA has already complied with the requirements of the Civil Aviation Authority of the Philippines (CAAP) in the reactivation of runway 31 for departures.

Aside from the transfer of flights between Terminals 3 and 4, new markings and information markers have been installed on the secondary runway.

Affected flights

MIAA said that three Air Asia flights would be transferring to Terminal 3, particularly those flying to Kuala Lumpur and Shanghai.

Affected Kuala Lumpur flights include Z2 948 (Manila-Kuala Lumpur), and Z2 940 (Manila-Kuala Lumpur). Meanwhile the only affected Shanghai flight is Z2 018 (Manila-Shanghai).

Meanwhile, 24 Cebgo (DG) flights between Manila and and Bacolod, Butuan, Cebu, Cagayan de Oro, Davao, General Santos, Iloilo, Kalibo, Legazpi, Puerto Princesa, Roxas, Tacloban, Tagbilaran will transfer and operate out of Terminal 3 starting Aug. 15 as well. All Cebgo flights utilize jet aircraft.

Another 20 Cebu Pacific (5J) flights using turboprop aircraft – mostly flights to Caticlan, Busuanga, Laoag, and Naga – will transfer to Terminal 4.

Airline companies for its part urged passengers affected by the new scheme to take note of the terminal changes. (PNA)RMA/ANP