Stormy weather over Luzon, E. Visayas due to ‘Tisoy’

MANILA Most parts of Luzon will experience stormy weather due to typhoon "Tisoy" (Kammuri), the weather bureau said Monday afternoon.

The Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (PAGASA) said stormy weather will prevail over Metro Manila, Calabarzon, Central Luzon, Bicol Region, Mindoro, Marinduque, Romblon, as well as in the Eastern Visayas area.

"Tisoy" will also cause rains with gusty winds over Surigao del Norte, Surigao Islands, and the rest of Visayas.

The typhoon was last seen 165 kilometers east of Juban, Sorsogon, moving westward at 15 kph.

It has maximum sustained winds of 155 kph near the center and gustiness of up to 190 kph. PAGASA forecast "Tisoy" to make landfall over Catanduanes or Sorsogon between Monday night and Tuesday.

Scattered rain showers and thunderstorms will be experienced over northern Mindanao, the rest of Luzon, and Caraga, due to "Tisoy" and the northeast monsoon affecting Luzon.

Localized thunderstorms will cause isolated rain showers over the rest of Mindanao.

Meanwhile, strong winds and rough seas will prevail over Luzon, Visayas, and the eastern part of Mindanao.

Over the rest of Mindanao, winds will be moderate to strong with moderate to rough seas, PAGASA said.

Tropical cyclone wind signal no. 3 is raised over Catanduanes, Camarines Sur, Albay, Sorsogon, Camarines Norte, Masbate including Ticao and Burias Islands, Romblon, and the southern portion of Quezon, Marinduque, Northern Samar, the northern portion of Eastern Samar, and the northern portion of Samar.

Metro Manila, Bulacan, Bataan, Tarlac, Pampanga, Nueva Ecija, southern Aurora, Cavite, Batangas, Laguna, Rizal,the rest of Quezon including Polillo Islands, Oriental Mindoro, Occidental Mindoro, Calamian Islands, Zambales, rest of Eastern Samar, rest of Samar, Biliran, Aklan, Capiz, Antique, Iloilo, northern portion of Negros Occidental, Northern Cebu, the northern portion of Leyte, and Guimaras, are still under TCWS no. 2.

Areas under TCWS no. 1 still include Southern Isabela, Mountain Province, Ifugao, Benguet, Nueva Vizcaya, Ilocos Sur, La Union, Pangasinan, Quirino, and rest of Aurora, rest of Negros Occidental, Metro Cebu, rest of Leyte, Southern Leyte, Dinagat Islands, and Siargao Island.

Sea travel is risky over the seaboards of areas under TCWS, the seaboards of northern Luzon, the western seaboard of Palawan, central seaboards of Visayas, and the northern and eastern seaboards of Mindanao due to prevailing or forecast rough sea condition, PAGASA said. (PNA)

Source: Philippines News Agency